top of page
  • Tiana Speter

MUSIC NEWS: Bris prog lords Caligula's Horse pony up and unveil new album plans + brand new tune

Brissie kings of the contemporary prog world Caligula's Horse have never been ones to stagnate. From continually defying expectations with their staunch and striking arrangements to actively seeking new sonic territories, C-Horse have remained one of Australia's most intriguing and enduring heavy acts since first forming just under a decade ago. And while the group skimmed at ambitious perfection with their 2017 opus In Contact, we're certainly set for something spectacular come May 22 when the brand new full-length Rise Radiant sheds its sonic lustre on our ears - and to whet your album appetite in the meantime, you can officially get around the brand new tune The Tempest.


Marking the group's fifth full-length album due out on Friday 22nd May, Rise Radiant is set to delve deeper into the creative psyche of the Caligula's Horse collective, offering an uncompromising exploration of the human experience. Marking an anthem for self-belief, an exploration of the themes of legacy and a rallying cry for survival; themes which are universally weighted and yet seem even more poignant given the current state of the world. Produced by C-Horse guitarist prodigy Sam Vallen and mixed by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Devin Townsend Project, Leprous), Rise Radiant is set to rise into a whole new artistic stratosphere for the beloved Brissie group:

Rise Radiant is the album we’ve been working towards for almost a decade. It represents everything we love about Caligula’s Horse – the colour, the ferocity, the introspection, the extremes – all tied up together in a way we could never have managed until now. As a band, we’ve never felt tighter, more inspired, or more driven than in the creation of this record. We’re tremendously proud of ‘Rise Radiant’, and we can’t wait for you to hear it!” - Sam Vallen, guitarist

But wait, there's more! To tide you over until Rise Radiant unveils, you can grab a taste of what's to come with the album's opening track The Tempest available right now - so go get a brand new pony fix now to start your weekend off in style!



01. The Tempest 02. Slow Violence 03. Salt 04. Resonate 05. Oceanrise 06. Valkyrie 07. Autumn 08. The Ascent



bottom of page